## TASCA 05

#### 4<sup>th</sup> Workshop on Recoil Separator for Superheavy Element Chemistry

#### October 6, 2005, Oslo, Norway

## **Scope**

- The main focus of the TASCA 05 workshop will be:
- To discuss within the international community the chosen DQQ-design for the gas-filled separator TASCA and its realization at GSI
- To discuss the progress, the status and the future work of the "TASCA@GSI Task Groups" within the community, and to harmonize the work of the TASCA Task Groups.
- To discuss plans for first specific experiments at and with TASCA and to determine their requirements.
  - (At this time we begin our Call for a "Letter of Intent"!)
- To discuss the envisioned scientific program at and with TASCA chemical and physical experiments in the context of the heavy and superheavy element program at other separators and with "pure" chemical methods.

### **Topics**

All topics in the Scope of this workshop shall be discussed and we ask for submission of contributions. Especially welcome are the following topics:

- Heavy element separation in gas-filled separators
- Magnet designs and separator configurations
- Window and target designs for high intensity heavy-ion beams
- Windowless operation of gas-filled separators
- Detectors and data acquisition
- $\alpha$ -,  $\gamma$ -, and conversion electron spectroscopy in the focal plane
- in combination with chemistry experiments
- Nuclear structure and stability (half lives, decay modes)
- Nuclear reactions (fusion reactions, target-projectile combinations, cross sections, multinucleon transfer products, ...)
- Achievements and perspectives in superheavy element chemistry

# **Organizers & Chair-person**

Matthias Schädel & Dieter Ackermann, Gesellschaft für Schwerionenforschung mbH (GSI), Darmstadt, Germany

**Jon Petter Omtvedt** (local contact & local organizer), Department of Chemistry, University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway

Andreas Türler, Institut für Radiochemie, Technische Universität München, München, Germany

# **List of Participants**

Name	First name	Organisation
Ackermann	Dieter	GSI, Darmstadt, Germany
Alstad	Jorolf	Department of Chemistry, Univ. of Oslo, Norway
Brüchle	Willy	GSI, Darmstadt, Germany
Dressler	Rugard	Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland
Dvorak	Jan	TU Munich, Garching, Germany
Eberhardt	Klaus	Universität Mainz, Germany
Eichler	Robert	Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland
Folden	Charles	Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, U.S.A.
Gregorich	Ken	Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, U.S.A.
Haba	Hiromitsu	RIKEN, Wako, JAPAN
Haenssler	Florian	Dpt. of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Univ. Bern & Lab. of Radio- and Enivironmentalchemistry, Villigen, Switzerland
Hummrich	Holger	Institut für Kernchemie, University Mainz, Germany
Omtvedt	Jon Petter	University of Oslo, Department of Chemistry, Norway
Opel	Karsten	Forschungszentrum Rossendorf, Dresden, Germany
Pershina	Valeria	GSI, Darmstadt, Germany
Polakova	Darina	University of Oslo, Department of Chemistry, Norway
Samadami	Fershteh	University of Oslo, Department of Chemistry, Norway
Schädel	Matthias	GSI, Darmstadt, Germany
Schulz	Frøydis	University of Oslo, Department of Chemistry, Norway
Semchenkov	Andrey	TU Munich/GSI, Darmstadt, Germany
Skarnemark	Gunnar	Nuclear Chemistry, Göteborg, Sweden
Stavsetra	Liv	University of Oslo, Department of Chemistry, Norway
Sudowe	Ralf	Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, U.S.A.
Türler	Andreas	Institut für Radiochemie, TU München, Garching, Germany
Uusitalo	Juha	University of Jyväskylä, Finland
Wilk	Philip	Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, U.S.A.
Yakushev	Alexander	Institut für Radiochemie, TU München, Garching, Germany
Zheng	Li	University of Oslo, Department of Chemistry, Norway